Well, our spring hopes are covered in white but I don’t really mind.  It was nice to get some time on my skis and peace of mind in the quiet winter woods.

winter, again

steam over the pot, I stuff my wool socks into shoes.

I missed him, old man winter, with his long, white, flowing beard;

His loud snore and red nose; his rosy ice-cold cheeks.

This winter, no matter the length, I will march to the pine trees, I will

peek inside the forest columns, I will let a day to listen and to look.

Butternut Squash & Barley Soup

1 turkey wing

1 large butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into 2-inch chunks

4 celery stalks, chopped

4 carrots, chopped

1 onion, cut into 1/2-inch wedges

5 parsley sprigs

fresh sage leaves OR thyme 6 leaves/sprigs

1 1/2 C barley

2 tsp salt

1 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Place turkey, squash, celery, carrots, onion, parsley and herbs in large dutch oven with 16 cups of water; place over high heat and bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer and cook 45 mins.  Add barley and cook for another 45 mins.  Before serving, add salt & pepper and stir.


